Acne Ointment

calendula-oil     A wonderfully effective yet surprising treatment I came across only a month ago that has really helped my acne.  I put it on some blemishes at night and in the morning found most of the swelling and inflammation was gone and healing noticeable.  So how did I decide to purchase this random item? While I was on vacation in Lake Tahoe I came across a locally made product advertised for healing cuts, burns and abrasions.  I decided why not try it for acne?  When I started noticing an improvement I thought I can’t be the only one so I did a little research online and sure enough it had lots of support and is very easy to make yourself.  If you are not up for that, it can also be purchased online at Vitacost from a company called Herb Pharm.

     Calendula has long been touted for its skin healing capabilities.  It is a special variety of marigold which is part of the daisy family.  It has anti bacterial, fungal and viral capabilities.   When combined with olive oil (I recommend using extra virgin organic variety if making yourself) which also has been used for the skin historically it is really quite a powerful combination.  I know if you have acne the last thing you want to do is put oil on your face but it does work for most people. High quality olive oil is known to kill not breed bacteria.  On a comedogenic scale it score a 2 which means that it has low potential to clog pores.  I do not recommend putting it on unblemished because it does have potential to clog pores.  As soon as your blemish has healed you may stop applying it to that spot.  Although I have never tried it I plan on making my own when I run out of my current bottle.  I just need to start growing some Calendula meanwhile:

– First I assume you will be growing them yourself or acquiring them fresh, I have yet to come across dried Calendula for sale.  Prior to making the mix you must set the flowers out to dry and wilt.  Depending on the climate it may take a few hours to a few days.

– Place the dried Calendula in a mason jar. Pour extra virgin organic olive oil into the jar and stir well and cap the mason jar

– Place in a brown paper bag and away from sunlight and heat to prevent oxidation.

– After 4-6 weeks, strain the herbs out. Pour the infused oil into dark glass bottles and store in a cool dark place.

– Enjoy and let me know if it works for you!

One thought on “Acne Ointment

Comments Welcome!

