Zoya Nail Polish

     zoya neely

     Living a non-toxic life is especially hard when it comes to cosmetics.  Having a love for color and fresh manicures left me feeling sad when I threw out all of my chemical laden nail polish. I thought non-toxic nail polish meant that I would have to end up shelling out some big bucks or get a cheesy brand of polish that came in dull colors and started chipping by the end of the day.  Then I discovered Zoya.

      It is free of  toluene, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, DBP (dibutyl phthalates), and camphor; also known as 5 Free – the new standard for healthy conscious nail polish.  These ingredients have been implicated in serious health concerns including cancer, reproductive health, birth defects and the like.  They are not beautiful ingredients at all!

     Much to my delight it stays on with no chips or signs of wear for about a week!  Results might vary with other people depending on the oiliness of the nail.  I have tried a few other brands that do not contain these ingredients and have found that so far this is the only one that works for me.  I have tried Essie, OPI, China Glaze and Piggy Polish, but none of them stay on like Zoya.

     I have yet to obtain a bottom coat but start off with the Zoya nail polish remover regardless of if I have polish on or not.  It helps to cut the oil on your nail.  Then I apply a coat of color and give it a couple of minutes to dry, apply the second coat and do the same.  I then follow it with their top coat Armour and this step is crucial in adding shine and longevity to your manicure.

     I usually give the top coat about 10 minutes to dry.  After that I am good to go, and just take extra care not to dent them.  Just note that with these less toxic nail polishes hot water within a couple hours seems to not be good for them at all.  So I avoid doing the dishes or hot showers for a couple hours after.  There have been times when I simply could not wait.  I would run my nails under cold water for a couple of minutes and this seemed to prevent any damage.

     After a week I usually have to change the polish because my nails have grown out or I started picking at them.  People have even mistaken them for gel manicures!  There are other nail polish brands out there that are 5 Free, however I have found that they are either too expensive, don’t work for me, or just did not have the array of colors I am looking for.  I recommend giving  Zoya a try!  This is the latest color I picked up, it’s called Neely.

One thought on “Zoya Nail Polish

Comments Welcome!

