Andalou Pumpkin Honey Mask

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

andalou pumpkin honey mask

     A few weeks ago I experimented with creating my own homemade pumpkin mask because of the exfoliating glycolic acid that it contains.  I had great results and would definitely recommend trying it out to see how you like using pumpkin on your skin.  I loved the dyi mask, but there was one thing that I didn’t like.

     It is kind of a silly complaint, but I loved the mask so much that I wanted to use it about twice a week, and that means that I would have to find ways to properly store it to get the most out of every can.  Well I came across this product and it had the same key ingredients that I used in mine.  I found it for only 9.99 at my local Wegman’s.  You can find it online at Vitacost for about the same.

     I have previously reviewed another Andalou product (Kombucha Enzyme Exfoliating Peel) and enjoyed it and figured why not try this one?  Well it is very different from their peel and also the DIY pumpkin mask.  First of all you can feel it working.  It does give off a burning tingling sensation and it does have a very strong smell.

     At first I was off put by it but now that I am used to it the smell doesn’t bother me as much and I don’t notice the skin sensation as strong either.  Now even though it feels like a burning  sensation for the first couple of minutes it certainly does not.  I even had it over a few active pimples and they were not irritated when I washed it off.

andalou pumpkin honey mask review

     You leave it on for about 10 minutes and then gently rinse off with warm water.  Then I towel pat dry and apply their toner (which I will review shortly) and follow with Argan Oil to moisturize.  Well I have to say this is definitely the closest thing I have ever tried to what I presume a professional facial level peel would entail.

     It left my skin brightened.  Any pimple that I had that were healing dried up the next day.  I also notice that surface level clogged pores were gone.  I tend to have very tiny white bumps on my forehead and they were flattened following the mask.  Even though it is a “mask” it is more peel like in that it is a gel and not opaque.Compared to their actual peel it was a lot stronger.  I think I will reserve their other peel for spot and overnight treatments from now on.  

     Overall I love it and would highly recommend this mask.  They also have another gel mask that from the ingredients appears to be a more mild mask, no Glycolic Acid just fruit enzymes called the BioActive 8 Berry Fruit Enzyme Mask.  I saw this at a health food store and the gel just looked and smelled great, so if you have sensitive skin this might be a better option.  Let me know if you have ever tried this or any of their other masks or peels or a similar natural product I would love to hear about your finds and experiences.

Comments Welcome!

